Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, I'm a newbie and I feel like this is a dumb Question! But I have been trying to do research on these forks and cant figure them out.

My Ohlins have FG 43 stamped on the bottom of the caliper mounts, But they have two blue lock nuts with a smaller dampener nut in the middle. Why are all the rest of the Ohlin's forks I see only have one blue nut on the top???

Which Forks are better? are the ones I have just older? and can I change the caps on my forks to the single nut style? It just looks so much cleaner! Thanks for your replies and being gentle with me! lol

This is what my forks look like, and they were on my 2002 998 when I got it

·
Registered
5,136 Posts
Can't answer your question I'm afraid, but unless they're longer than normal then your front end is seriously low...

·
Registered
1,937 Posts
FG43's are older forks from the 916 eara superbikes. If yours is a 998, they were an after though from the previous owner. Also, they are very high in the triple....I would recommend lowering them considerably!

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks guys, this not actually my bike. just a picture i found online that look like my forks. My forks do not stick out that far.

@ Viper, why is it if I search FG43's they also come up with forks with the single nut on top? can i change mine to that?

·
Super Senior Poster
6,328 Posts
Same fork, it appears that he just double up on the locking nuts or change the top nut assembly. I've never seen an OEM Ohlins nor aftermarket Ohlins with a double nut set up. When I bought my RTs for my 999, Ohlins had mistakingly sent out a set FG43 for the 998. I persued the installation instructions and it appears that the cap uses a single nut set up. I would imagine if you called Ohlins USA, Hendersonville, NC....they could probably set you up with a new top nut assembly.

·
Registered
614 Posts