Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your bike HERE to be a part of this months Bike of the Month Challenge!
1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
from idle to about 4k its jerks around alot but not all the time, when i floor the bike its smooth and fast and sounds good, also when its idleing it is also pretty smooth, is this normal to surge so much when i am crusing, it almost sounds like its missing?? do i need a carb sync, valve adjustment, spark plugs, new fuel filter??? or would i be waisting money as this is "normal" for these bikes, and i have owned over 15 croch rockets and this bike has class and style like no other, i love it, and everyone checks it out, i love it.... its a 1991 mint cond 900ss with full fairing and yellow frame, if that helps with a answer..thanks...

·
Registered
319 Posts
Not mine

I'm also new to the SS (98 model) but mine is sweet at any rpm. It shakes a bit below 3500 - 4000, but if you open the throttle it's takeofftime.

Thats with DP cans, open airbox and a jet kit.

·
Registered
609 Posts
what kind of gearing are you currently running? if it has the stock 37 rear tooth sprocket may I sugguest a 39 or larger.

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
califblue said:
what kind of gearing are you currently running? if it has the stock 37 rear tooth sprocket may I sugguest a 39 or larger.
i am not sure what this has to do with the fact that if i hold the throttle in one spot when i am cruizing it jerks alittle bit at lower rpms, but i am guess i need to take it in to have the carbs syncd up i just was hopeing someone had this problem before and can help....i dont like to just spend money and have that not be the problem

·
Registered
1,751 Posts
ericdiver said: