Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just purchased a pre-owned Diavel and it is straight stock. I am new to Ducati and have a lot to learn. What are the sites that cater best to Ducati parts, and are there things that have universally needed to be changed that you all can help me with?

·
Registered
1,197 Posts
First things first,

Welcome,

does your bike have a service history?
if so did you get receipts for work done with your purchase?
How many miles are on it?

what you need to check
Have the recalls been performed? these _may_ include, coolant replacement, license plate bracket replacement, side stand replacement. there may be more, my 2012 has only needed the coolant replacement.

Belts on your bike are due for a change every 5 years or 15,000 miles so if it's done less than that you will need to get the belts changed, if it's close to 15k get the full service done also.

For parts do you mean service parts or mods and accessories?
cheers

·
Registered
228 Posts
First things first,

Welcome,

what you need to check
Have the recalls been performed? these _may_ include, coolant replacement, license plate bracket replacement, side stand replacement. there may be more, my 2012 has only needed the coolant replacement.

Belts on your bike are due for a change every 5 years or 15,000 miles so if it's done less than that you will need to get the belts changed, if it's close to 15k get the full service done also.

cheers
All good points.
If I may add. I also had the thermostat changed. (2012. Bought new)
In cold weather the thermostat remained closed, thus causing overheating.
For me tyres changed every year. The metal thread on the rear tyre showed up very quickly. Keep doing your walk around inspections.
How`s the rear brake? When I bought the bike new, it was totally useless.
Bleeding solved the problem.

Great bike and loads of fun.

·
Registered
1,197 Posts