Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
150 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I am a forum newbie on the brink of a Sport Classic purchase and, after a considerable period of "lurking", I decided to register, introduce myself, and ask a question.

As for the introduction: I am a 58 year-old ex-pat Brit living in Colorado (moniker is pun on county name). I got my original m/c license in England back in 1967, and well-remember the cafe racers of that era (mostly Nortons, BSAs, Triumphs, Royal Enfields, Velocettes, etc and various combinations of same). I currently own a 1983 Suzuki GS750ES and 2005 Kawasaki ZZR1200. The GS is retained for largely sentimental reasons, the ZZR as a sporting two-up ride for myself and wife. The Sport Classic would be used mainly for local (less than 150 miles) solo rides up the nearby Rocky Mountain Front Range canyons at speeds generally below 85 mph. I am fortunate enough to live only 1/4 mile from the mouth of one 17-mile canyon, which leads to other fine motorcycling roads.

After almost 3 years of humming and hawing, I finally attended a recent Ducati Demo Day and rode an 09 SC1000 Biposto (and also a Monster 1100S) for about 17 miles (35 minutes). For at least this short period, I found the riding position natural/comfortable, and the inexpressable joy of riding this motorcycle took about 30 years off my age). The decision to buy a left-over, new 08 SC1000 Biposto was just about made.....until I received a telephone call from a private seller asking if I would be interested in buying his 07 SC1000S Biposto, for somewhat less money, of course.