Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your bike HERE to be a part of this months Bike of the Month Challenge!

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello Newbie here. Having been reading this forum for many years now.

I joined because i am finally in a position to really go to town on an amazing project bike and wanted to get as much expert input as possible and share the journey with my fellow 749R lovers. So please bear with the long post.

I currently own a Ducati 2004 749R track bike with the DP engine kit (Cams, Heads, full Ti Termi and ECU) with less than 1,000 KM (purchased from an chap with big collection of Ducatis in Italy) I also have all road parts including carbon fairings in storage.

I also own an Aprilia RRV 450 Race bike (IN Competition Machine). Awesome 62hp, 120kg 450cc V Twin race bike..

Both bikes are in the UK and being fully refreshed

So onto the PROJECT - i want to build the lightest most up to date 749R track bike - I am calling it my "749R MOTO2 PROJECT " spec and weight - I have a very good budget to do it. I know it will cost a small fortune but you only live once and I love this bike and engine more than any other on the planet, including all the wizz bang new stuff (some of which i will also buy but more on that later).

My 749R already has some nice parts and weighs in at 180Kg with half a tank of fuel. I want to get that down to to 150Kg mark, WET!!!. Now i know some people will say that is impossible - the WSS spec bikes came in at 165KG wet. So if i can get to full WSS spec plus parts that were not allowed due to regs, it MIGHT be possible....The bike will not be built in my shed but by a professional Ducati Race team.

So I mean,

WSS Spec plus the following mods:
Custom NCR or Strada FAB Ti frame
Full Ti Hardware, and additional engine lightening
Carbon tank, Carbon Wheels, Carbon Fairings
Full Moto 2 or FGR 300 Ohlins setup,
Full Brembo GP4 system