Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
178 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Guys
As title says i am new to Ducatis and have a 999, that i would like to run some questions by you all.

My bike is really hard to get started for the first time when its cold, once its warm its not too bad, just had a full engine rebuild, full service and new battery by the dealer i brought it off. Using cold start if on full will turn over for a second before it stops turning over, quarter cold start fires but find it hard to run, also the time clock always resets to zero, once it has been running its not too bad. Yesterday it took a few minutes to get it running and the whole clock assembly went blank, no rev counter nothing, it did come back on eventually.

Not used to twins, is it right for my bike not to run smoothly under 4000 rpm, it has standard gearing, riding through town i am keeping it in first gear above 4000rpm, anything below and the bike is vibrating and protesting like hell, same on the motorway riding in 5th at 80mph, put it in 6th rev drop below 4000rpm and the bike vibrates and protests, and doesn't seem to like it.

Thanks in advance

·
Registered
2,441 Posts
i would suggest not to touch the cold start lever at all,once its running you can use it to increase the rpm,but before starting its not needed.
many regear the xx9 bikes to make them better for low speed driving.while a proper tune will have them run smoother at sub 4,000 rpm.they do seem to be happier above.try 15-41 to get the low speed revs up,you can also drop a tooth on the front to get near the same results (although some dont like running a smaller counter sprocket)

·
Registered
1,031 Posts