Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your bike HERE to be a part of this months Bike of the Month Challenge!

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
123 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys,

I recently purchased a Dark 2007 S4R Testastretta.. with only 2,000 miles on her..

I come from a strong car background (and i'm a shade tree mechanic)

I love being unique and dif.. I have 3 RX-7's... and love the uniqueness of the Rotary engine
which is one of the reasons I chose the L-Twin over the 4 pot

I just have a couple questions for you:

1.)
I'm looking for something that I can wear in the heat...

I live in the middle east and it basically never gets cold here except for a month or so in the dead of winter when it's humid and your out in the middle of the desert then u might be able to wear full leathers...

right now it's in the 90's *F outside

is it enough to wear body armour? or does it have to have a jacket over it?

2.)
I'm looking to do the Cat replacement pipe, to clean up the look of the bike, shed a couple lbs, and add some more sound...

but leave the stock slip-ons as is.. (not ready to core them just yet)

Has anyone tried this? how does it sound?

does removing the cat change flow enough to require ECU work?

is the Bike as smart as a car? will the 02 sensors notice the lack of Cat and throw a CEL (Check Engine Light) ?

any other general comments?

Thanks guys

·
Registered
53 Posts
I hope someone from the southwest of the US answers you on the outerwear in the heat question, since I live in a 4 seasons area of the US, but here's my take on it: