Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, my name is jeff, and i have sold my two bikes to purchase a ducati....i think

i want a 1098, its been my dream bike since i started riding ('07, im a youngin)
i think its beautiful, i have heard great things about it, and there are some great deals in my area, 15K CAD is the best deal that i can find.

however, i am contemplating putting off getting my dream bike for something else.. an 08 CBR1000RR. brand new.
its winning bike of the year in every critics and magazines opinion
i love the look, its comfortable, and its fucking fast...pardon my french

anyone have any tidbits of information to sway me one way or the other?
i am going to purchase over the winter. probably sooner than later.

they are identical in price, but the duc is used with about 2000kms on it.

·
Registered
167 Posts
I have a 1098, and here's my opinion:

Unless you're some sick rider who'se ringing 100% out of the bikes, the 1098 is just as fast. In fact, I think the 1098 feels faster in street riding thanks to all that torque.

The 1098 is unique. If you don't mind being part of the herd, maybe this won't motivate you. To me, though, the 1098 has an appeal that can't be put down in some spec sheet. Obviously this is subjective and may not be the case for you. If its not, then maybe you should get the Honda.

I also think you'll be happier with the way the 1098 handles after a good set-up and perhaps a few mods. There's much more potential in the 1098 than the CBR.

Either way, those are both sweet bikes!!

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
i love the exotic feeling of the ducati. its like an elite club, which is something completely different from the honda, yes.

this bike will probably be doing double duty, street and track
seeing as i have sold my R6 track bike, and 08 GSXR750 to make this purchase

·
Registered
81 Posts