Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First, cool forum. My name is Derek McLeish, I live north of Santa Barbara California. I have been fortunate to live where we can race Land Speed Racing at the Bonneville salt flats, and the El Mirage and Muroc dry lakes. We have set over 160 speed records in motorcycle powered vehicles. I don't do forums so a total newbee in that regard. I need some tech help on a 748S 1996. We used the motor to power the SilverRod streamliner (photo included) to a 192mph record at Bonneville.
We upgraded the pistons and top end to SP specs. We used a donor wiring harness in the streamliner. The engine is back in the 948S and I have two (at least) wires
that I can't find on the wiring schematic. Old eyes and and too many years since ran the setup.
Hoping someone can help. So here are some pics of the wiring.
SilverRod at El Mirage.JPG
IMG_1793.jpg
Sensitive content, not recommended for those under 18 Show Content
IMG_1795.jpg
IMG_1791.jpg IMG_1792.jpg

·
Administrator
11,885 Posts
Hi and welcome to the our little corner of the internet forums. Very exciting stuff to see what you have going on with the land speed racing.
I might copy this thread over to the Ducati general forum to see if someone can give you some feedback.

·
Premium Member
4,675 Posts
Off the top of my head I don't remember, even though having rebuilt my 748 frame up I should...
several plugs have 2 prongs and similar connector, one is side stand switch, often bypassed.

I think the one on the right is a Rear brake light switch, Purple wire.

One on the left might be neutral light switch,

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Off the top of my head I don't remember, even though having rebuilt my 748 frame up I should...
several plugs have 2 prongs and similar connector, one is side stand switch, often bypassed.

I think the one on the right is a Rear brake light switch, Purple wire.