Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your bike HERE to be a part of this months Bike of the Month Challenge!
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, My name is Miguel and I'm 59, I live in Lynchburg, VA and I'm a fan of riding the Blue Ridge. I did it many times with all my previous bikes , but this is my first Ducati, it is a mature 2004 Ducati. Multistrada 1000DS a failure with the throttle, it starts and idles very well, and after 4000RPM is ok, but in mid range between 100 and 4000 it CHOKES, so it is almost impossible to ride, I checked pump and Gas pressure, and is ok, Spark plugs OK, Air filter OK, battery is new.
I have no experience with ducatis, but it is possible some FUEL INJECTION FAILURE from the ECU?
Do somebody here knows a good DUCATI technician or Mechanic? I was at FRONTLINE EUROSPORTS at Roanoke but looks like they don't want to work in old bikes.
The engine does not leak, no smoke, everything is perfect even idling does not stall, but you have to start your ride playing with the clutch since BELOW 4000 RPM it chokes.
Any idea I do not want to sell it as is but if I am forced I will do

THANKS IN ADVANCE
Miguel

·
Registered
569 Posts
Welcome and sorry to hear you're having issues. Duc Pond Motorsports in Winchester can get you sorted, Donnie Unger knows his way around Ducati's.

·
Registered
1,875 Posts
I don’t know the answer to this however I would start with fresh fuel and cleaning the injectors.
sorry that ur not enjoying ur new bike.
Agreed. Syphon out the old gas, add new gas, and maybe throw in some Star Tron or a similar cleaner. I did that after trying everything else with a friend's scooter that had been sitting for a couple of years as he battled cancer and it came back to life.

·
Registered
1,368 Posts
If you have an exhaust valve, look that its operating normally and isn't stuck in the closed position. Normal operation is closed at idle and open at 4k rpm.