Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just checking in here as I am new to the Ducati world. I just picked up a beautiful 04 Ducati 749s which I plan to turn into my track bike next season. It has been expertly maintained but sustained a spillover so some of the bodywork is dinged rashed up. I'm sure I'll have a zillion questions as I tear this thing down over the winter.

Oh, I am in northeast Ohio so the riding season is pretty much over here.

·
Administrator
11,884 Posts
Hi and welcome, time to fly south with your new toy for the winter. Plenty of track time here in California and a few other sunny winter spots ;)

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
While it isn't California, I do hope to make it down to Jennings in Florida over Christmas.
I'm still sorting what exactly I have. The VIN comes back as a 749S Biposto but if that is the case, it must have undergone some modifications. It has the adjustable monopost subframe, seat and rear cowling. It also has Ohlins front shocks, rear shock and steering damper. Did the S originally have a Termignoni exhaust as well as Marchesini wheels?

·
Registered
19 Posts
No the 749S always came with showa suspension, No termi, yes marchesini, but not the forged ones (the good ones)

I think they all come back as biposto on VIN search

Head on ever to Desmotimes and buy the book if you plan on servicing it yourself, take it for a couple of shake down rides before heading to the track, italian things can break from being not being used enough or being used too much, or something like that.

EDIT: I didn't see the pic, that's showa suspension on the front (idk why a bunch of them have that sticker) Ohlins forks are gold, but a Ohlins rear off of a 999S and maybe not a Termi and just a sticker ( can confirm with some pics, my bike had one as well). Also if you want to sell some of your factory plastic let me know.