Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
317 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello my name is Titus. I picked up a 1999 996s two days ago. I wanted to introduce myself and also ask some of my many questions. Im new to the motorcycle world and especially to ducati. I owned a cbr600 for 3 weeks before I upgraded to the 996.

I bought the 996 from a guy who used it as a track bike. He had done some modifications to it. It has track bodywork on it and I am slowly converting it back to oem bodywork. I would like to keep the performance modifications which he has put on.

The bike is very loud, probably due to the forza pipes by ferracci. But it sounds very weird to me. The owner said everything is fine and that it runs good. I rode it and it seems to run good.
The clutch lever is very difficult to pull and hold down, seller stated that he had changed it because it is better for track use. This is were my first question comes in, how do I get this thing clutch to feel like the oem does cause its killing my left hand,lol.

Its got a dry clutch in it, is this normal or did the previous owner change to this? Can I run a vented cover without any problems? mostly for visual appeal.

I also want to do some maintenance to it like change the oil and check fluids. Is there a good online manual which I can use or if someone can recommend a printed manual that would be great too. Im pretty mechanically inclined so I would like to tackle as many of the jobs as I could myself instead of paying others to do it.

Any help is greatly appreciated. I look forward to being part of this forum and learning as much as I can about these beautiful machines.

·
Registered
790 Posts
Dry clutch and vented covers are fine. It's normal.

Some sources for you.

http://www.ducati.ms/forums/showthread.php?t=26729

http://www.ducati.ms/forums/showthread.php?t=30849

http://www.ducati.ms/forums/showthread.php?t=29734

http://www.ducati.ms/forums/showthread.php?t=28882