Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your bike HERE to be a part of this months Bike of the Month Challenge!

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
138 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
OK, I've been chasing electrical gremlins since I bought my 2002 ST4S since I got it several months ago. It's coming very close to being tossed in the river with a brick tied around its neck. Anyway, I saw the post from another person that mentioned taking out the Evoluzione side stand bypass and I was going to do that and was playing around with the neutral switch that is located on the back of the transmission in a recessed hole. I tugged on it with moderate pressure and it popped off.

So my question is this, How tight should this connection be?

I can slide the connector back on the switch and can put some needle nose pliers to squeeze plastic connection around the switch but I don't know if that is adequate. If not then how do I get the switch/wire back in as a wrench won't fit down in there. Would it be worth changing out the switch entirely? If so I still don't understand how to install it with the wire on.

Heeeeelp!:mad:

·
Registered
344 Posts
Volley,

That wire connector is designed to pull off the neutral switch. The end of the wire should have a brass connector protected by a short piece of clear plastic tubing. There is no tension on this wire so, as long as the brass connector is intact it should slide back on (just like a spark plug wire) and make a sound connection.

Yes you have to remove the wire first to remove the switch. Remove the right side passenger foot peg to give some swing room. You'll need a deep 14mm socket and a breaker bar with a universal joint on the end. Even w/ the U-joint you'll only get a quarter turn or so before you have to reposition your wrench. It takes patience but it can be done without special tools or removing the shock.