Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I did some searching and couldn't really find much on a few of these. First off I have a 2004 749s with full termi exhaust and love it. I do want to make some minor changes to start with (cosmetic) as the first phase of building up this bike. I currently have the silver rims and would like the black. I was wondering, do I paint them, or get a different set? I have a few years of experience in painting, and would be rather easy and cheaper for me to do so. Also I want to put carbon fiber to replace the air ventilators, air duct covers, front fender, side engine covers, exhaust pipe cover, and tank protector. Before ya go all crazy for all of the carbon fiber, the reason why I want to do this is because: I want to go for the "R" look, the current black pieces are hard to clean when you get some wax on them and can wear with the sun (even though I keep it inside), keep a nice shine with wax, and also the look of it. If I were to get these pieces, does anyone know of a company that makes a good quality product without breaking the bank? The last thing I would want to do for this first phase in my project is the front number plate. I lurked a bit and saw that srsigndesign makes a good one that people here liked. I would want to trim it to look like the one on the 749r, or can I still get it from ducati performance? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
Here are some pictures of it in it's current state. Still haven't named her.

Attachments

·
Registered
1,489 Posts
Hi Rob,

So you’re planning to make your bike ever look lovelier? Well, honestly I think you’re better off by selling your bike and buy a 749R carbon version. That would be much cheaper and you get some extra bonus like to adjustable triples.