Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
So, I'm considering buying my first Ducati (I've been riding for 9 years though). I am a fan of simple bikes; the Monster and the SS both are exciting options for me.

I saw this ad on Craigslist...
and I've contacted the seller about looking at it. However, the bike is a long drive away from here and so I want to make sure I am not wasting my time.

First, the bike looks different from the other 2007 800SS models I've seen on the internet... the fairing looks like an older model. Am I missing something or is the seller lying?

Second, apart from the fuel vent issue described in other threads, what other things should I look for when I go to see the bike?

I'd consider getting a 1000 or a 900SS, as others have recommended, but I like the idea of getting something newer since I like to know how a bike has been maintained and the older it is, the harder it is to know that. :)

The seller said that it has a couple of scratches but it has never been down.

The price seems like a good deal ($5400) but I am wary because it looks like an older model.

Any thoughts or advice you guys can provide would be greatly appreciated!

·
Banned
2,916 Posts
there is no older or newer style of injected Supersports at hand,
fairing wise, they are all the same, from 1998-2008, from 620 to
1000cc, the bike on craig's list has an aftermarket front fairing fitted,
or the middle part of an aftermarked front fairing to be exact.

:think:

what is the mileage of this bike ?

age isn't much of a concern with those, as they
are not older than 10 years anyway, be it a low
mileage bike, i wouldn't worry too much.

get a stock one with few miles on it and 1000cc. ;)

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
there is no older or newer style of injected Supersports at hand,
fairing wise, they are all the same, from 1998-2008, from 620 to