Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Having problems with my bike , noticed my battery was getting flat last week so I started her up and rode around for 20mins to charge her up again, left it for a couple of days and went to go for a ride , noticed the battery was still pretty flat (lights and brake light were dim before I started it) so i started her up again , no problem warmed it up a bit rode down the road about 50m and it just died, battery was dead flat no sign of life whatsoever. So I went and bought a new battery as this one was at least a few years old and although I've been riding it a lot the last few months it was sitting around a lot before that. Anyhow bought the new battery and lights and all come on good but still wont start. checked over my wiring and fuses and all seems ok but i'm no auto electrician. pulled out one of the plugs and rested it against the head and kicked it over , can't see a spark.
Any ideas , can it only be one of a couple of things or one of many ? It has a Sachse ignition (if that makes a difference)

·
Registered
370 Posts
No spark, but the rest of the electrical system is ok? Logic says it's gonna be a fault in the ignition system then.

I'm not familiar with the Sachse system. Do they provide any test procedures for their system?

·
Registered
6,209 Posts
I think you might have more than one problem. Make sure you new battery is charged up.
The spark may not be real bright, so checking it in the shed without a light on will help. The spark may jump between the head and plug if it’s not well grounded, so look closer. You may have fouled the plugs with a weak spark. Are they dirty or wet ? If so, replace them and try again.
Try unplugging connectors and plugging them in pushing on both sides to seat the wires firmly. Spray them and clean them if they’re dirty or corroded. Same with the fuses.

·
Registered
252 Posts
What 900SS do you have 100beck?