Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your bike HERE to be a part of this months Bike of the Month Challenge!

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey, what's up everyone. Been lurking here for a few weeks but this is my first post....go easy on me! I've been riding a 2005 Monster S4R for about two years now (Suzuki SV650, Kawi ZX6R, and Aprilia Tuono before that). Love the bike, but I have the new bike bug bad and I've been looking at getting an 848 to replace the Monster. Most of my riding is around town with the occasional canyon run. I'd like to start doing some track time and maybe someday buy a sport tourer for the around town kind of stuff. I'm wondering if any 848 riders here have moved over from the Monster series and what their take is on the differences?

I've (twice) demo'd the 848 including this past weekend. The riding position doesn't seem to be much different to me although I know it should be (I'm 44, 6'2" and 180). One problem I've always had with the Monster is at any speed over 70, you definitely get the feeling like you need to hold onto grips a bit. With the 848, more leaned over and a functional faring, I don't get that same sense. The Monster is definitely more upright but I do have long arms and no real trouble reaching the 848's clip ons while not leaning over too much (granted, both demo rides lasted about 15 minutes). The power of the two bikes appears to be pretty similar (my Arrow-outfitted Monster was dyno'd at 118 before I bought her) but the 848 is WAY smoother. I simply don't need the power of the 1198 and would feel way more comfortable (i.e., in control) on the 848. One potential issue I encountered on both test rides was getting the 848 into neutral at a stop....found that to be quite a bit of work.

Anyway, I'm curious to hear from any former Monster folk about their transitions to the 848, good or bad. Thanks!

·
Registered
65 Posts