Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone,

Due to HOV restriction on I66, I now need to get a motorcycle or a hybrid car for commuting. But since I have 2 cars already, getting one more car is not appealing to me at all, so getting a motorcycle seems to be a right choice.

I have checked out a lot of bikes, and Monster 796 is the one that I plan to purchase very soon, but I have a few concerns, and I hope you guys can help me out.

1. Is monster 796 a beginner bike? I haven't ridden motorcycle before, (btw, I've been riding bicycle competitively for the past 10 years). What do I have to watch out when riding this bike?

2. Is monster 796 a good bike for commuting, which has a lot of stop and go? Will it get over heated easily? And what can I do to prevent it?

3. Do I need any mods if I only use this bike for commuting only?

That's all I have for now.

Thanks

·
Registered
17 Posts
If your set on a Ducati Monster, (which I was) the 796 is great for commuting.
It was my first bike (a month after my MSF Course), Its a step up from the 696(single sided swingarm, oil cooler, and quicker). And not a rocket, which will let me work up my skills.
I commute to work 50miles each way, but not in traffic, more of a steady 65-75mph.
But obviously there are more <commuting friendly> bikes out there.
But i love everything about my Duc. It was a perfect fit for me.

·
Premium Member
421 Posts
I use my 796 to commute to work, but I wouldn't consider it a beginner bike. It has a significant amount of low-end torque which could get you into trouble in a panic situation.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
So I shouldn't get 796 if I am a beginner? And what kind of trouble I might get with a significant amount of low-end torque?

·
Registered
176 Posts
I have a 696 and feel it was/is a great beginner bike. Stepping up to a 796 is not too big a deal imo.