Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your bike HERE to be a part of this months Bike of the Month Challenge!

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
230 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,

Noob here. I'm seriously comtemplating getting a monster. However I am torn between the 696 and 1100. Here's a little background about me:

height/weight: 5'8"/140lbs
riding experience: 9 years
rides: 1994 GSX-R750 (previous ride), 2004 GSX-R750 (current ride which I will keep)
type of riding: weekend toy

I don't need something with tons of power (that's what the Suzuki is for), but just something to ride to church with on Sundays and kind of have fun on the weekends. Considering my riding experience, I don't know if the 696 will feel underpowered to me or will it be enough.

I ride about 1,500 miles a year, which if I get the Ducati, it would then be split between the two bikes.

I wish I could say price is no object, but it's a factor (when is price not a factor?). Can anyone who's ridden one (or two) of these bikes chime in? And are there any differences between the two other than power?

Thanks! :)

·
Registered
312 Posts
I love my 696, I have had the opportunity as well to ride a 1100. The biggest thing that I noted was that my 696 seemed lighter when in the twisties, I know the bikes only have about a 20 pound difference, but I think it is noticeable. The 1100 is also bigger height wise, the seat is something like 1.5 inches higher, and the swing arm is slightly longer to accommodate the single side. The 1100 will rip you Shlt less if you are not ready though, unbelievable torque and power delivery.

In your case, seeing as you already have the power bike, get the 696, drop the front sprocket to a 14t and get termis, you will not be disappointed! Not only will it save you money up front, it will be cheaper to insure, and you can really squeeze it for gas millage. (I can get about 55-60mpg in the twisties!)

·
Registered
230 Posts