Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All-

I have been doing some research and using the 'search' function on this forum. I wanted to get your opinions. I am a complete rookie, never even been on a bike. Always had an interest in bikes though. Well, I am in love with the new Monster 696. I plan on taking the MSF class and learning to ride. I read the Monster 696 is good for beginners, is this true? The cost wouldn't be a problem, so that's not a concern. I am not a big guy either, 5'8" 28 years old. Some of my friends are saying, dont get a Duc, you'll drop it or ding it, get a cheap used bike. Other friends are saying they never dropped or dinged their bikes. So what to do? Thanks.

·
Registered
182 Posts
We really need a sticky about first time bike buyers.

In my opinion it's too big, but it's all about how much risk you want to accept.

Keep in mind you are coming to a Ducati forum to ask what bike you should start out on. It's like going to a Yankee forum and asking who everyones favorite baseball team is.

Get a Ninja 250 to start out on, then after a season sell it and you'll practically exactly what you paid for it and be much wiser and happier.

Good Luck

·
Registered
312 Posts
Well, my opinion is that you need a cheap bike to start, because on the slight chance that you do drop your Duc, you are going to feel very sorry for yourself, along with your wallet. Get a used 250 or 400, cheap to insure, and when you are ready to trade up, you can sell it for what you paid. I know that the 696 is marketed as a beginner bike, but it is alot of bike. The best thing that I ever did was get a cheap bike, and then trade up. I know it might hurt your ego to put around on a tiny bike, but experience is all that you need that bike for. You can then look cool on your Duc 3 months down the road.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #4