Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings!

New to the forum. I recently purchased a new Monster 2013 1100 EVO after having my Dark 696 stolen in less than 3 months. It may have been a blessing in disguise because I LOVE my 1100. It pretty much came with the works but I'm thinking about upgrading the rear shocks.

I've looked at:

Nitron
Race Tech
Penske
Wilbers

Since I'm a relative newb to the game they all seam pretty awesome. From my limited research I think I can do with a 2-way adjustable however I am not completely sold on remote vs piggyback. My riding will consist of some possible track days, twistes, mostly highway and city.

Recommendations? Suggestions?

·
Registered
1,386 Posts
Buy the Ohlins DU737. It is a direct bolt on and replaces the crap OEM shock. Made the bike so much better.

Took me about an hour to fit in my garage.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks SDRider! I did look into this shock but was steered away from it by 2 shops because the adjustably concerns being "not that huge a diff from the onboard Sachs"

·
Registered
1,386 Posts
Thanks SDRider! I did look into this shock but was steered away from it by 2 shops because the adjustably concerns being "not that huge a diff from the onboard Sachs"
True it has the same adjustments the stock unit does but it still works a lot better and with a spring that is set for your rider weight it makes a huge improvement. Plus, it only costs about $700. I'd bet all the other units you're considering are well over a grand and you have to deal with mounting the reservoir on a couple of them. Unless you're racing the bike I really don't see the point (and if you are you'll still be let down by the front suspension anyway). For street riding and even the occasional track day the Ohlins is a great upgrade for the money.

It is a quality piece that works very well on the street. Definitely worth the asking price IMO.

·