Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I will be purchasing an 848 soon and am planning on doing a few upgrades. I was hoping to get a little feedback from you experts...

I had a CBR600RR, bought it off the showroom floor after I graduated college. Never raced before, never brought it to the track. I just love to ride. After a couple hours or so, my wrists and back ache, hence the thought for the Streetfighter. I recently sat on one and liked what I felt.

As far as upgrades, I will put a slip on exhaust and tail tidy system, along with windshield. No problem there.

I would like advice on:

1. slipper clutch: I have had the rear wheel wobble and that is on a Honda

2. suspension: Seriously considering Ohlins front and rear, primarily rear. I know the SFS already has this, but it is too much bike for me. I don't mind upgrading if it will be an improvement for me. Being I just ride streets, is it worthwhile??

3. Brakes: Seriously considering a Brembo mono block up front. Being I just ride streets, is it worthwhile? I felt comfortable with my CBR600RR brakes and had no itch to upgrade.

Those are three serious upgrades I'm thinking to do, in that order...Although I hate to get my hands in the guts of the machine. If it ain't broke, you know?

Thank you!

·
Registered
442 Posts
1. No need, just blip the throttle on downshifts... I don't have one and I do lots of track days.

2. Not worth it if you're just on the streets.
3. Same as #2

·
Registered
69 Posts
1. No need, just blip the throttle on downshifts... I don't have one and I do lots of track days.

2. Not worth it if you're just on the streets.
3. Same as #2
Agreed.

Get your suspension setup, the 848SF has a fully adjustable Suspension.