Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your bike HERE to be a part of this months Bike of the Month Challenge!

1 - 6 of 6 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all...I'm new to the forum and I'm interested in buying a Monster as a first bike. I know I want a 600cc model, as I'm just learning to ride. I have been involved in motorsports on the car end of the spectrum and have always wanted to learn to ride. My question for all of you is, what should I look for as far as a used Monster goes? What are some common problems that I may encounter? I have about $4000 to spend, but would like to keep some of that money aside for maintenance and any replacement parts I may need right off the bat. Please excuse my lack of knowledge about these bikes...(I'm new to the two wheel world ;) ). Anyway, thanks in advance for any help you have to offer and I'm looking forward to posting on these forums and learning as much as I can so I can make an educated decision!

·
Registered
1,230 Posts
the vertical cylinders have been known to blow a base gasket. Check with the owner and see if that has happened and if it has, if they have the service records from having it replaced.

Belts - need to be changed out every 2 years or 12k miles, reciepts should be enough on this from service.

valves, should be checked at 600 and 6,000 miles, and every 6k miles thereafter (or 12k, depends on the owner/dealer/mechanic recomendations). Service reciepts should be enough here as well.

That's off of the top of my head. To the best of my knowledge, the air cooled ducs don't have any specific issues other than the base gasket issue.

Anyone care to add?

·
Registered
403 Posts