Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I have a 1997 748 and am currently doing the valve adjustment. This is my first time to adjust the valves myself and am currently working on the vertical intake side valves first (easiest access).

I have been following ducatitech.com's online guide http://www.ducatitech.com/2v/maint/adjust/index.html.

The unloaded gaps seem to be fine (~.002").

The question is how much force am I supposed to press down on the closing rocker arms to check for the loaded clearance? I pushed down on the closing rocker arms with a flat tipped screwdriver and they wouldn't move at all.

Does this mean my closer clearance is too tight? If so, how would I calculate the thickness of the shim to get to make it to the correct clearance?

I'm pretty sure I am at TDC on the rear cylinder (I double checked with the flywheel mark to the first dot-horizontal TDC, then I turned it approx 260 degrees for Horizontal TDC).

Any help/advice would be greatly appreciated! :)

Larry.

·
Registered
83 Posts
I recently just got done w/ my first valve adjustment and am by no means an expert, but when I pushed down, it was more like a click rather than actual movement. But there should be a little bit of movement.

·
Registered
1,082 Posts
I'm sure there are many that would disagree, but I find it MUCH easier to measure the closers at the follower/cam behind the cam, with a set of long, curved feelers. No need to do the push-against-the-spring thing, which I never felt comfortable trying to do with 2 hands. ;)

·
Registered
1,591 Posts