Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Wanted to give my bike a good tune up and get ready for the season. A buddy of mine has had a lot of Ducaties suggested that I use this product called hy-per lube at my oil change. Said it makes the bike shift a lot better and seems to run better. Anyone tried this stuff?

And my next question is the age old question asked of every bike--- What oil should I run in this bike?

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
HY-per lube. Not KY-Lube lol Spell check got me on the title. Got a buddy that has a few Ducaties and swears by this stuff.

·
Registered
40 Posts
I'm no scientist but I'm going to go say that ducati motors will run just fine with the $17/quart oil ducati recommends. I highly doubt adding a supplement will make any sort of positive change.

·
Registered
175 Posts
No oil supplements necessary. There's no way to know what they contain or predict what they will do for clutch and variable cam systems. There's nothing an oil supplement will do that the oil won't already do on it's own. There's as many different oil recommendations as there are members on the forum. If you don't want to decide then just go with the Shell Advance 15W 50

·
Premium Member
3,671 Posts
My 15 has always shifted like butter as long as I'm not too soft on it (couple easy false neutral spots)... I just use the expensive Motul stuff that was available in the US before the Shell Advance became available.

On the DVT bikes I'd personally not use any aftermarket treatments - the oil is somehow a part of the DVT action and adding something that the mfgr hasn't tested is probably not a good idea.

·
Registered
678 Posts
FWIW.......I’ve used 4 different oils in my ‘12 MTS, running UOA’s on all of them and have run Amsoil for the last 65,000+ miles. The last UOA, done at 100,000 miles, was perfect! Also using Amsoil filters.

·
Registered
129 Posts