Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your bike HERE to be a part of this months Bike of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 53 Posts

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just bought a 1999 Monster 750 from a buddy for 900 bucks. It’s a decent bike (that I’ve always wanted) but it’s a little neglected. My game plan is to give it some much needed love in the shape of new belts, check the valves, and fix the brakes and clutch. I am going to go through the carbs too while I am at it.

I am not new to bikes but I am new to Ducati’s. I have a 2006 Dyna with abuilt motor and a custom softail that I built too. Enjoy the pics

I am going to update this post as the project unfolds in an attempt to get guidance and also to keep it all together.

The bike came with a Haynes manual and I just ordered the Ducati maintenance guide from emsduc

·
Registered
51 Posts
Hey Jason,

I am up the road from you in St Aug, I just finished redoing my 796 Monster ,Ducati # 5 for me, let me know if I can help you at all

Mike

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter #4 (Edited)
Got home from vacation and picked up the bike. I also got the shipment of the first order of parts and manual.

These brake and clutch controls came with the Ducati from my buddy, along with a billet aftermarket clutch slave. I don’t know anything about the quality of these products if anyone wants to chime in.

I can tell by the fluid leaking on the side of he bike that both of the clutch and front brakes have a physical leak somewhere in the system that I will have to fix. I degreased her a little bit but I won’t be able to clean and strip anything until my next days off. Enjoy the pics

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I’ve been doing so digging on these parts.