Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your bike HERE to be a part of this months Bike of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Premium Member
117 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys (& gals)

I'm a newbie here. I thinking/going to start looking at used Ducatis. I think I'm interested in a ST but honestly don't know s_it about them.

Without asking anyone to write a novel about them could you send me a few pointers of what to look for and what to look out for? I've been a Porsche guy for 20+ yrs, for the most part have done all my own work on the Porsches so I'm not afraid to get grease under my nails or to use a little elbow grease.

Best year?
Best model? (2,3, 3s, 4 4s)

TIA. I appreciate all the help.

Michael

·
Registered
102 Posts
Newbie myself, but the answer depends on what you want. If you just want a solid "all around" sporty touring bike, any of them would work well. There are advantages to the newer ones on a lot of fronts, but this all depends on what you want in the end. I'd be completely happy on an ST2. I don't ride 10/10ths, maybe 4-5 when I get excited around some nice corners. I don't trust roads or other drivers enough to get in much deeper. Much like last month when I was going down this really nice road at a decent clip and there was a pile of gravel mid corner on a somewhat "tighty righty" with a nice dip so you couldn't see it until you were pretty much on it. Road crew apparently patched the road and didn't clean it up. Stood it up, dropped all the speed I could, hooked around the gravel, and got back in my lane fast enough that I didn't get shook about an oncoming car. Glad the damn thing has great brakes.

Find a nice one for the price you want to pay. I see ST2s and ST4s for some pretty reasonable prices. ST4Ss and ST3s run a bit more. I've got an ST4S, but I was open. Bought from my cousin. Was looking at an ST3 and an ST2 but logistics weren't in my favor.