Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
138 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Great.....Just got my 2002 ST4S a couple of weeks ago. I'm not a big mechanic so I'll see if I'm cut out for this Ducati thing. Two days ago on my way home it stumbled a bit like it was running out of gas...I downshifted and it cleared. Went out today and it will turn over but won't start. I'm not sure if this is normal but when I crank it it will turn over and if I give it about a quarter of gas it will turn over faster.

What is the first thing to check....and remember that I'm a newb so please be as self explanatory as possible....That is if you tell me the flux capacitor next to the thermo wiget is corroded I may be asking dumb questions like "where is that"? Any help is appreciated.

·
Still needs a life.
12,596 Posts
There have been a lot of "my bike won't start" threads posted here since riding season began. For starters (no pun intended), skim through the thread titles dating back to about May 1st and you will find several threads which may help you.

·
Registered
138 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Yeah thanks...I checked them all but none seemed to display the same issues.

·
Still needs a life.
12,596 Posts
my well worn "bike won't start" tale

Out of the box, the 02-ST4s cannot be started with the sidestand down, even if the bike is in neutral. My 02-ST4s was equipped with an aftermarket device installed by the previous owner which by-passed this feature. I developed starting problems which were attributed to this aftermarket device. Once the device was removed, no more starting problems. Of course after that I could only start the bike on the centerstand if I wanted it to warm up, but that did not bother me as I always parked it on the centerstand.

·
Registered
1,600 Posts
Could be a variety of things but here are a few to check:
1. Fuel Filter clogged.
2. Fuel line split in tank.
3. Fuel pump relay.
4. Fuel pump itself.