Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just picked up a 97 900ss yesterday. I guess it sat for awhile while the guy was enlisted. I was told they cleaned the carbs.

It starts and runs fine, rides fine, except that the idle is stuck at about 3800 rpm.

If I pull the plug wire on the bottom cylinder, the engine returns back down to to about 1200 with a little sputtering. If I pull the top plug wire, no change. I'm figuring that the rubber parts in the carb or going bad maybe?

I have little experience with carbs so any insight would be helpful.

·
Registered
2,434 Posts
Did you check the idle adjustment and carb synch? Also set the idle mixture screws to 3 turns out as a starting point. Sounds like it could be plugged up idle jets. Not hard to clean, but you'll have to remove the carbs to do it. Also make sure the choke is turning all the way off.

http://www.ducatisuite.com/carbadjust2.jpg

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I haven't torn into the carbs yet or tryed adjusting them, but I got new plugs and installed them. I also figured out that the vertical cylinder isnt firing, but it is getting spark. The bike will also occasionally start at 1200, but when I hit the idle, it hangs at 3000-3500 rpms.

·
Registered
100 Posts
minimum the pilot circuit(s) is plugged, likely the idle was set way high to
cover the problem up in order to make the sale of the bike.

A detailed carb cleaning in your future.....especially if this bike sat for over a year.

IF they were done at all, they weren't done correctly.

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Well I just ordered the new rubber parts for the carbs according to what I found in another thread. So it'll be end of next week before I can make any progress on the carbs.