Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
98 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi there, this is not my first rodeo. But I haven’t been in Monster world since my 20th anniversary M1100s. My first bike was an M620, then an M900 followed by a Panigale 1199 and an MTS1200, etc. Always had Ducatis — this will me number 11 — and am now coming back to Monster-land with a 2019 1200s Anniversario.

On the ride from Hamburg to Berlin yesterday, I noticed, at 6’3” and 46 years old, that I’m going to have to make the kind of mods I’d long forgotten, since I’ve been riding a Multistrada and an XDiavel for a few years — I need more legroom and/or knee replacement surgery.

What are other taller riders doing to help? I’ve ordered the touring seat, but I fear what I really need are adjustable rearsets THAT ALLOW LOWER SETTINGS. Is there anything out there?

IIRC the lowering-peg kits from MFW Vario and others push your feet out so far it’s hard to hit the shifter/brake pedal. But I’ve only found rearsets that raise the footpegs.

I wonder if anyone’s gone the extra mile to machine his own? Or am I missing something on the market?

Thanks, Matt

PS I know clearance can be an issue, but I’m less concerned about that than I used to be. I’ll ride my multi on trips to the Alps and a V4 on the track, so I really just want this Monster to be a comfortable commuter.

·
Registered
75 Posts
Is the touring seat taller? I don't have a 1200 so I can't comment on rearsets but, since you're tall to begin with, you could afford to add some padding to the seat. Making it higher will reduce your knee bend.