Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Sophomore Member
2,895 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is a how-to guide for performing a "Desmo" service including an oil change, valve check, and timing belt swap. This can apply to pretty much any Desmodue engine. In addition to my how-to, I recommend the use of the LT Snyder book.

Note that I am building this how-to as I go through the work. This is my secondary bike, so it will take me a little bit of time. Additionally, this is my first time through the Hyper, so it may become apparent at some point that the order of something doesn't make sense. I will try my best to make note of these.

Let's get started.
Drain oil. For the Hypermotard EVO, this is a 6mm allen.

Remove oil filter. For K&N style filters, use a 17mm socket.

Replace oil plug including a new crush washer. Install a new oil filter. Rub a dab of oil on the gasket of the new oil filter prior to installation. DO NOT FILL WITH OIL.

Now begins the removal of the tank. Start by removing the seat. This is a 4mm allen.

Remove the two bolts holding the center plastic tank cover. These are 3mm allen.

Remove the gas cap. This will reveal two more bolts that need to be removed. These are 3mm allens.

Remove the center tank cover. Lift the front up first and work your way to the back as the back portion wraps around the tank.

There are 3 bolts holding each side tank cover. These are 4mm allen. Two are visible here. Note the lone bolt screwed into the tank not attached to anything does not have to be removed. This bolt is what holds the seat in place.

And the other here.

·
Sophomore Member
2,895 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Tonight we will continue and remove the fuel tank.

Remove the 4 bolts holding on the bracket. These are 4mm.

Remove the battery.

Remove this bracket which holds various electrical components. This is a 3mm bolt.