Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
86 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 2007 GT1000 that was a 'leftover' - I just bought it new with 0 miles on it. It's my first Ducati and I'm really enjoying it, though I of course hate having to keep it under 6k RPM for the break-in.

But while I know I should expect more 'desmo noise' from the engine than other bikes, I'm not sure what's normal. Right around 5000 RPM, and increasing as I approach 6k, the engine begins making a possibly strange noise - I'd have to describe it as almost a "buzzing" or "clacking" sound accompanied by pretty noticable vibrations.

Is this something I should be concerned about, or is this normal for the GT? Will it go away as the engine breaks in and things get 'seated' better?

TIA

·
Registered
115 Posts
I am new to Ducati as well. Mine has a 'buzz' from about 5-6k rpm. I think its pretty normal. I would be more concerned about 'clicking' or 'ticking' noises that could be from metal on metal contact somewhere.

Sorry I can be of more help.

·
Registered
2,426 Posts
From what you describe, I am not sure I like the description. Is it possible to return it to the dealer for a second opinion?

·
Registered
1,210 Posts

·
Registered
775 Posts
From what you describe, I am not sure I like the description. Is it possible to return it to the dealer for a second opinion?
+1 on this. Not sure you should be hearing any 'clacking' sounds. If the bike has been immobile for 2 or more years, did the dealer check the belts before releasing the bike to you? Not saying the belts could be responsible for the noise, but the idea of a belt check came to mind.

A further check by your dealer may be in order. Good luck & keep us posted.

·
Premium Member
1,974 Posts

·
Registered
737 Posts
+1 much want :D

·
Registered
1,043 Posts
Not much. I know thats a bit vague...but fits the question. Maybe a sound bite will help us..?

·
Registered
2,426 Posts