Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your bike HERE to be a part of this months Bike of the Month Challenge!

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Good morning :). I'm new to the entire world of Ducati and am considering buying a 2008 Hypermotard 1100s. The bike looks great (have only been sent pics of it) and the price is good but it has 33,000 miles!. I can't say I've ever even seen a Duc with that many miles, much less see one for sale. The bike is in Texas near Fort Worth, which is about 8 hours from me so I'd like some quality input from people who know before I drive that far to look at it. It's for sale at a dealership and they say that they are going to do all of the ducati maintenance before I would get it.
Any thoughts?

Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
1,359 Posts
I have been seeing a bunch of Hypers for sale lately with low prices and miles, some really good deals on CL in the Tampa area. Choose wisely but 33k is not terrible on an air-cooled ds 1100 motor.

t_bare

Reactions: wmfleet2

·
Premium Member
5,156 Posts
I am trying to remember but I think Gary Egan ran a multistrada 1000 in the iron butt and hit some high miles. I see plenty of Ducati's with 50,000 miles and on my dyno they often make the same as they did at 10000. Any time you run a vehicle at higher mileage you run the risk of simply finding parts that were not of average manufacture, there can fail and will need changing. There is no way to know if a part will fail early (which is why new vehicles have a warranty) so it is crap shoot from day one.