Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your bike HERE to be a part of this months Bike of the Month Challenge!

Should I buy or not?

• Don't Buy

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • BUY

Votes: 0 0.0%
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I already hecked this forum for a good three days before posting this, if it was further down the pages i'm sorry was at page 26 already.

I'm looking into buying a 2013 Hypermotard 821, it has 42k Kms, I live in Mexico.

I've read all about the on/off engine light, the ECU swap under warranty, the coils changed under warranty, brake discs warped and changed under warranty, etc; but just read that at 20K miles (around 32K Kms) the valves shoudl be checked.

My question is ¿How deep into the bike should I go in the PPI?

¿Any suggestions? I repeat I'm new to Ducati, but not new to bikes, have had suzuki, ktm and honda... but those were bikes I would beat the crap out of them so never really cheked before buying, planning a different lifestyle for this one.

Hope you guys can help me

Thanks in Advance

·
Registered
1,085 Posts
If it doesn't got it's 30k service use this info to leverage the price. And do it.

If valves are tight it will be hard to start hot, but ducati valve train tend to loosen over time.

I'd be concerned to ride it if the belts have never been changed though.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
If it doesn't got it's 30k service use this info to leverage the price. And do it.

If valves are tight it will be hard to start hot, but ducati valve train tend to loosen over time.

I'd be concerned to ride it if the belts have never been changed though.
I'll be taking every advice into consideration since I've never even checked a ducati before

·
Registered
332 Posts
As an owner of a 2014 sp with 25k miles... If the price is very cheap and you are ready to do most of the maintenanc, I say go for it!

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·