Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm not a mechanic, so I did search the forums to get an idea on how to remove the stock exhaust, headers, O2 sensor, etc. Thanks for everyone's posts for getting me to that point. But now, I'm stuck.

I slipped the penta onto the bike just to see how it would fit, but I noticed that the opening that would connect to the midpipe is practically flush with the subframe (unlike the original silencer opening which bends at a downward angle)... Sorry, I don't have any pics to show you what I'm referring to...

Then I went back to the "instructions" and noticed the following:

"Put spacers from kit upon the valve engine in order to obtain clearance for the silencer."

I did see the spacers but am not sure where to put them. If "valve engine" in the instructions refers to the servo/exhaust valve thingy, I'm using the Zard collectors, too, so any ideas?

While I got stuck regarding that, I decided to see if I could do anything else and looked at the rear turn signals and license plate... From the instructions, it looks like I have to remove the stock rear signals and license plate holder and mount them to the penta silencer. I know I can "split" the plastic stock signal mount, but how would I remove the signals themselves? I can unscrew the bolts and unplug the signals (and see the wires), but I don't see a way to unplug the signals at that point... Will I have to unplug the signals further up the wires at the connectors that are where the battery is located? Again, sorry I don't have any pictures to post.

Thanks in advance for any advice (or words of encouragement).

·
Registered
97 Posts
Can't help with the Zard but yes, you do have to unhook the connectors for the turn signals under the seat. Here's a diagram from the service manual. The connectors are #'s 51 & 52. Hope this helps.

Attachments

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Great visual aid.