Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your bike HERE to be a part of this months Bike of the Month Challenge!
1 - 20 of 60 Posts

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First thing first:
1995 900ss cr
Had it for 3 years only put 200 miles on it and has been mostly sitting. I know I know but I'm coming around to finally ride it.
It's always started poorly and bumpy (rpm)

I'll try to make this sweet and simple. Firstly I'm a noob and I'm not familiar with carbs or motorcycles but I think I can hold my own.
I'll be doing the work myself.

I've also read about 8 threads on this but they off track.

It's been a year or so since I turned my bike on. The last time was when I filled her up of gas and it was leaking gas from the overflow tube.
I didnt end up riding cause I didnt want some of that gas burning up on the exhaust and perhaps catching the bike on fire.

So I put her away the worst way possible... just left it on it's own for a just over a year.
Eventually the tank was emptied out on it's own. I thought it leaked out...

Actually fuel was in the crankcase and I just emptied the thing.

https://youtu.be/hxN-awS_sc0

My floats are most likely stuck open so now i have to take the bike apart and fix that.
There is a video on youtube to help me with the removal process.

Now... I know the stock carbs arent exactly reliable and peices go bad.
I know there are rebuilt kits.
I've done research now for 2 days and I cant find what I need.
All I need is a link so I can buy a reliable kit to fix the stock carbs.
I'm not sure which kit I need or brand.
I cant afford new $1500 keihens carbs or used $800 ones.

If you can take it easy on me that would also be appreciated.
Thanks in advanced to whoever can help an idiot in need.

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Also... since my whole motor got full of fuel... what else do I need to do?