Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am looking at picking up my first Ducati probably in the spring. I have been riding for about 15 years and had several other sport bikes R1, S1000RR etc but have always lusted after a Ducati. Kinda a dream bike for me.

I really like the Tri Color Paint Work on the 1098 and 1199. I was leaning towards possibly an 1199 due to it being a bit newer but seems alot of people kinda dog on the 1199s stiff chassis? I am a road rider that really just wants one to ride around town and take to the twisties and to enjoy in the garage. I am not opposed to trying to find a 1299S either. I like the look of the forged wheels especially the Gold wheels on the 1098S.

Is the 1098 reliable enough and modern enough not to give tons of headaches? I know when the 1199 came out it seemed like people felt like they had made a large leap in reliability. Is the 1299 that huge of a step up from the 1199? Whats the better road bike for just around town? I have read the newer bikes aren't as torquey down low? I would probably put couple thousand miles a year on it is all as I have other bikes.

Can someone give me what a fair price would be on a 1098 or 1199 Tricolor in good shape? Same with 1299S? I have seen wildly fluctuating prices being asked for them even with seeming close mileage and condition?

·
Premium Member
4,790 Posts
Ducati. Making mechanics out of men for the last 50 years.
All the bikes you listed have their idiosyncrasies and problems. You’re going to get many opinions here so I may as well be the first to hand one out.
Any of the bike that have low’ish kms AND have been looked after will do you. Personally I’d go for a low km 1098 base. Cheaper than a “S” and just as good. Don’t get hung up on fancy suspension, wheels or power.
Let the opinions roll in😃

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #4