Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been a Vespa driver for years around NYC and now I'm looking into stepping up into something with more power and performance. I have my heart dead set on finding a SportClassic Sport 1000 or GT 1000, but I didn't realize what I was getting into. These babies sure are rare and hard to find for a decent price.

·
Master of Bumnitude
5,133 Posts
I have been a Vespa driver for years around NYC and now I'm looking into stepping up into something with more power and performance. I have my heart dead set on finding a SportClassic Sport 1000 or GT 1000, but I didn't realize what I was getting into. These babies sure are rare and hard to find for a decent price.
And likely to become yet more so. Out of production Ducatis, sold in relatively small numbers, and with no successor models. That is a formula for increasing values and growing scarcity.

-don

·
Registered
821 Posts
They are certainly getting harder to find. To make you possibly not feel so bad, I assume since you rode a vespa for years that you really like it. I hope you know the SC is exactly a polar opposite in every conceivable way. :cool:

·
Premium Member
1,088 Posts
Be diligent, check a nationwide Craigslist, Ebay, and Cycletrader frequently. And have cash ready to go because available bikes don't last long. Figure $8k for a GT, $10k for a Sport, $12k for a S, and $18 for a PS (based on recent sales I've seen). You may find them for less, but having that amount ready to go means you won't miss an opportunity. Good luck!

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
@arbakken: Oh I am hoping for some new experiences.

@greggers: Been looking at GT and Sport, so I guess I need to have $12K in cash ready to go. Man oh man that's steep.

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #7