Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your bike HERE to be a part of this months Bike of the Month Challenge!
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone
I’m a current owner of a 93 900 SS. Its has approx 25000miles/45000kms. I believe it has the original headbolts.
I might be seeking that bike and am looking at another 900. It has about 13000miles/20000km. It also has original headbolts.
Are both of the above examples in jeopardy of these bolts failing? I’ve been told regarding the first bike that “if they are not broken then they probably wont break”
How concerned should a person be on headbolts?
Thanks
Shayne

·
Registered
925 Posts
What year is the ‘other’ 900?

·
Registered
1,424 Posts
I am no expert but I believe those bikes are in danger of the head studs breaking. Some people say just wait until one breaks before replacing but I would rather be pro-active and fix them just for peace of mind. I am in the process of dropping the engine on my Superlight to take a crack at replacing the studs.

·
Premium Member
6,148 Posts
If you look at the studs and they are shiny (chrome) they are likely the ones that CAN break. If they are not broken and the bike is not apart and you are not startiing on a around the world tour with the bike then I would wait until that changes. There is / was no warning of one about to break, there is no promise that one will. I would just give you a 30% chance that one day 1 of 8 studs will fail so I always prefer to pick the time vs wait and be without the bike in the middle of riding season.

I also must add that Nichols (iirc) used to have some chrome looking studs that you could tell apart only once a head is off. With chrome studs I would not Touch one to re-torque as any playing with it could push it over the edge.

·
Registered
2,110 Posts