Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
I have a button.. BITCHES!
8,971 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I can hear a smoothing type harmonic sound under load at about 4500 rpms. Does anybody else hear a nice smooth harmonic sound at any speed or rpm's where the bike just sounds right? Is this normal in the Ducati motors? I'm not a mechanic so I have no idea. But I do know that it sounds GOOOOOOOD.

It's kinda like the sound of tuning a guitar with harmonics and you get that wahwahwahwahwahwaaahwaaahwaaaaaahwaaaaaahwaaaaaaaaaaaaa...... type of sound.

Sorry if this sounds odd, but just curious about the Ducati brand. I've had inlines and never heard anything like that.

By the way, 4500 rpms in third or fourth gear.

·
Premium Member
1,861 Posts
On your note...my rig seems right at about 5500 rpm or so (160 km/h in 6th). It really becomes a Monster after 6000 (any gear).

·
Home of vortex tuning
1,648 Posts
I had a roll in the cams on my '69 XLCH @70 per that no one else had. All wanted to ride alongside to listen to the music. Went away with a new set of Siftons. The hyper is quiet.

·
Registered
262 Posts
I haven't found the spot with the GT but riding with a frined on his ST2 we occasionally get the sound between the two bikes.

Very slight throttle changes in either bike can make the harmonic shift closer or farther apart.

Gives me goose bumbs under the leather.

·
Senior Italophile
865 Posts
I can hear a smoothing type harmonic sound under load at about 4500 rpms. Does anybody else hear a nice smooth harmonic sound at any speed or rpm's where the bike just sounds right? Is this normal in the Ducati motors? I'm not a mechanic so I have no idea. But I do know that it sounds GOOOOOOOD.

It's kinda like the sound of tuning a guitar with harmonics and you get that wahwahwahwahwahwaaahwaaahwaaaaaahwaaaaaahwaaaaaaaaaaaaa...... type of sound.