Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
116 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Half-helmets - what one can I purchase that is safe and doesn't evoke "lollipop head"

On the highway, I am using a ROOF Boxer V modular.

I am looking at the Davida Speedsters for a summer, around town helmet, as I've heard that they fit really well and don't tend to give riders that lollipop head look.

Does anyone else have any recommendations for a nice half helmet that isn't enormous? I am a size LARGE now, and don't want to overaccentuate my huge noggin' anymore than necessary.

Cheers,
Daniel

·
Registered
126 Posts
They may be hotter in the summer but I wouldn' ride with anything but a full face helmet, even around town. Just my opinion, but I've seen what a friend looked like after an in town face plant with a 1/2 helmet, not a pretty picture.

·
Premium Member
12,237 Posts
I've been wearing 1/2 helmets for 20+ years. Just sold my 2003 Electra Glide H-D and the buyer wanted because it matched the Bike (same stripes) I told him I would sell it to him for replacement cost of a new 1/2 helmet .I looked at the multi brand bike dealers store $69 .May as well get the cheapest one you can find for all the Protection it offers you. Bought my first full face last year when I bought my Hypermotard and it is the only one I will wear.Looking to buy a very good one lots of $$$..When I am informed well enough ...Your brain does not heal , head injuries are nasty...I don't mean to preach

·
Registered
724 Posts
Half helmets only protect half of your head. If you can live with half a head, go ahead and get one. All I wear is full face. I had two nasty falls with full face helmets on and I am still here... the helmets were pretty messed up (one Simpson and one HJC). I wore a half helmet when I rode my cruiser... after a pebble to the upper lip, I went back to full face.

I cringe when I see the Harley guys down here with just their "magical" bandanas on...brrrr.

·