Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Trying to learn GP style shifting I downshifted (around 10k) instead of upshifting and tached the bike out. All the shift light came on, it wasn't pretty. Bike starts fine, idles and revs fine, no mechanical noises. I know that this is a good way to blow a valve train. Believe me I do feel like a dumbass because I have 10+ years experience, none with GP style though. How durable are these motors and should I be concerned? Thanks and feel free to call me a dumbass :D

·
Premium Member
1,059 Posts
Take a deep breath and pretend it didn't happen. There's really nothing to do about it now, and nothing really to check if it runs well, still.

I'd call you a dumb-ass, but I switched mine over to GP a few days ago, and I don't want to jinx myself...:D

·
Super Moderator
8,222 Posts
You dumb f*ck!
There.. I fixed it for you! :D

As said.. I did the same thing when i switched.. Just look at the ground and pretend its raining and go on to the next one. There isn´t alot you can do. If it runs fine, then chances are good that it didn´t hurt anything.:)

I did it on a F650 aswell.. 650cc single.. Enginebraking when downshifting to first instead of up to third was BAD! I smacked the handlebars with my chest.:eek:

//amullo

·
Premium Member
2,373 Posts
I did the opposite with my buddies GSXR 1000. I've had reverse shift since day one. I was in second gear on his normal shift bike and punched it, went to hit third, instead went to first, the bike tire just starts spinning like crazy, back end fishing around. My buddy was on my 749R and said it looked pretty sweet...lol :D I did not think so, scared the shit out of me. Those jappos react kindly to such a mistake I guess.

·
comrade moderator
27,045 Posts