Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone. This is both a cautionary tale and a plea for information. This morning I set off from my house on my '07 GT1000 as I always do. I turned onto the main road and quickly went through gears 1,2,3 when all of a sudden they rear wheel locked up! I was passing a car and began fishtailing. It probably scared them almost as much as me. Luckily I was going in a straight line and was able to come to a controlled stop. I was in the middle of shifting and there was clacking and other horrible noises from the tranny. Pulling the clutch in did not free the wheel, but the motor itself continued to run. Once I was stopped I tried to go through the gears but it would hang up if I went more than a few inches. After assistance from the local P.D. and a tow, I got it back home. Scary stuff.

I've never worked on a transmission before, although I have so far done all wrenching on my bikes. My assumption is that the shift forks got bent and screwed it all up. I guess I'm looking at a new transmission in it. Any input or experience is welcome. Here's a pic of the tire afterwards. I was taking it on one last ride before planning to replace it.

·
Registered
21 Posts
I am suspicious of your clutch. If the trany locked up, disengaging the clutch should have taken the trany out of the equation. Of course if the trans. ate itself alive it may have screwed up the output shaft thus locking up the wheel. In other words,I’m just guessing.

·
Premium Member
4,142 Posts
In 23 years of working full time on Ducati's I have had 1 transmission lock up that was not the shift arm . That bike was a st4 where a piece of metal got into the shift drum and seized things solid.