Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your bike HERE to be a part of this months Bike of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am aggravated beyond belief. My '94 consumes fuel pumps regularly. I have been using the O'Reilly's in house premium brand with the lifetime warranty and they're tired of me replacing them every couple of months. A hot rodder friend of mine said to chase all of the ground points to make sure that they are good. Great advice, but I'm thinking of foregoing all of that and simply converting to pure gravity feed. I think that I could put an elbow and barb fitting on the tank drain and go from there. I am using FCR carbs, but it will draw now through the dead fuel pump so shouldn't be an issue.

What do you all think? Crazy-talk?

·
Registered
289 Posts
I am no expert, but I am also interested in a "pump-free" solution.

What I do know is that the Carby SS with racked FCR41s WILL gravity feed, but not the whole tank. I have heard of people modifying the internals so it will use more of the tank, but I don't know from experience.

·
Registered
1,179 Posts
I am no expert, but I am also interested in a "pump-free" solution.

What I do know is that the Carby SS with racked FCR41s WILL gravity feed, but not the whole tank. I have heard of people modifying the internals so it will use more of the tank, but I don't know from experience.
You can change the pick up a bit but the problem is you need to get fuel bowls below the tank. No amount of modifying is going to get that unless you reduce the capacity or jack up the fuel tank.

·
Registered
1,179 Posts