Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, my name's Bradley and I'm from Huntsville, AL. I picked up my first Ducati yesterday afternoon. It's a '02 900 SuperSport that I traded my '05 DR650 supermoto dead-even for. This thing is a blast to ride and certainly different from the Jap bikes that I've gotten used to. I must admit I'm a newb to all things Ducati. I don't know any history on this bike, so what would you guys suggest I do maintainence-wise (other than oil/filter change of course)? I'll post some pics up here in a bit.

·
Registered
127 Posts
Welcome, congrats, and pick up a Haynes manual for that bike! (and check/replace the belts).

96SP

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Will do! Here's some pics. Oh, I forgot it's got some kind of solo tail (I have the stock one too) and Leo Vince carbon slip-ons. What a great sound!

·
Registered
735 Posts
1st Ducati . . .

greetings RustBoxBrad,

Start at the front of the bike and check each and every fastener for tightness, corrosion, missing or mismatched, or damaged. Look at the hydraulic lines, fuel lines, drain hoses, checking their condition. Replace the turn signal bulbs, brake light bulb, and headlight bulb. Or carry spares all the time. Change the fuses and carry extras with you every time you ride. Change the air filter, fuel filter, and clean the mesh screen when you change the oil. Look for leaks, making notes on all of this for future reference. Check your chain alignment and condition of sprockets. Change both sprockets and chain at the same time, if needed. Spark plugs get changed. Check the air in your tires every time you ride, flats are not fun and will hurt you.