Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
285 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I bought a 1998 Monster 750. Not sure why, but I like the way it sounds. :)

I want to get a new front tire, but the axle won't come out. I have no experience with this bike and could use some advice before I trash it any more than I have.

It has a 19mm allen fitting in the axle on the right side, which I thought meant it screwed out. The axle goes into a bushing on the left side. The fork pinch bolts clamp on this bushing on the left and the axle on the right. When I loosened the pinch bolts, I tried to unscrew the axle. When I did that I trashed the speedo, it rotated with the axle and ripped out the cable.

Does anyone know if this bushing on the left side is threaded or just a bushing. Is it part of the speedo? I can't tell if it is just corroded and frozen to the axle, or if it needs to be unscrewed. I don't want to just wail away on it with a drift....

Help would be appreciated! (And if anyone has a speedo cable I am in the market...)

·
Registered
451 Posts
It does just unscrew, the speedo drive was probable frozen to the axle but it should still unscrew, try spraying some penetrating oil on it and let it sit over night. If it unscrews from the bushing but still does not want to come out then try taping it with a brass punch, that way you wont damage the axle.

Frank

·
Premium Member
6,917 Posts
I bought a 1998 Monster 750. Not sure why, but I like the way it sounds. :)

I want to get a new front tire, but the axle won't come out. I have no experience with this bike and could use some advice before I trash it any more than I have.