Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,455 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi kids.

Finally convinced the wife that I could probably do a track day without killing myself. Only took a decade. Since it's my first time I have decided to take the Duc, rather than invest in a track bike before I even know if I am into it.

Suspension is sorted (see signature), but brakes are stock. Tires are M3s. Just bought my leathers, and ordered frame sliders, axle and swingarm sliders, and bar end sliders. Tow kit for the Jeep is on its way, friend is letting me use his trailer. I also need to get a sport chock because this track requires sidestands to be tied up (Toronto Motorsports Park). I am looking at September to be all set.

My goal is to take it easy with the wobbly group, just exploring lean angle and maybe get a puck down...and to bring the bike home alive. All the recent posts about guys binning it at track days have me a bit spooked though. It won't ruin my life if I mangle this bike, but I would prefer not to.

Any advice? What is the right mindset, and the right strategy to avoid exceeding my limits (or the bike's), or getting taken out by some other moron?

·
Registered
3 Posts
I just did my first track day (at Barber) 3-weeks ago on an S2R1000 for similar reasons. Figured I'd just try it out and see what is was like.

2-Weeks later I purchased a dedicated track bike (of Japanese origin) and also traded the Monster for an '07 Sport 1000S.

I would recommend getting some better pads for the front calipers. The EBC HH sintered pads felt way better than the stockers and made me feel more comfortable.

After going around the track a few times behind the instructor you may be surprised at how quickly you get up to speed. The main thing is to relax at first and just try to learn the line and basics of body positioning. Sportbike Track Time was the outfit I went with and the Novice class had one instructor per every 6 riders.

·