Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey All,
So, I'm finally planning on making it to the Pocono Track Day on Aug. 8th; my first. I'm wondering how people handle their lights? Do you tape them or pull the fuse? What is the best tape to use? I run high-end HID's so I definitely don't want the tape to melt. Any other suggestions from the track veterans? I've been riding for many years so I don't need any suggestions to take a class blah blah blah. I don't plan on acting like an idiot on the track. Thanks for the help.

·
Registered
32 Posts
Hey All,
So, I'm finally planning on making it to the Pocono Track Day on Aug. 8th; my first. I'm wondering how people handle their lights? Do you tape them or pull the fuse? What is the best tape to use? I run high-end HID's so I definitely don't want the tape to melt. Any other suggestions from the track veterans? I've been riding for many years so I don't need any suggestions to take a class blah blah blah. I don't plan on acting like an idiot on the track. Thanks for the help.
I'd suggest pulling the fuse or, if you have stock brake lights, the bulb. Some of this depends on the track day provider as well. Out here, on the Left Coast, some promoters require you to tape over your headlights to minimize the plastic on the pavement when you crash even if you have the fuse pulled. Others will have you remove your mirrors, or tape over them. My point is that the rules vary by promoter, so check the web site for them and what else you can expect at the event (lunch provided, electricity available, covered pits or garages for rent, etc.).

Since you have expensive HID headlights, see if you can just pull a fuse to meet their requirements.

Other suggestions?
1. Give your machine a good "once over" and clean it thoroughly so any "issues" can be easily spotted before you head to the track.