Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 20 of 98 Posts

·
Registered
220 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Got my first ever speeding ticket in my life.... allegedly doing 38 in a 25mph area. $130 something fee.

As I have no experience at all with these things – what do I do? Just pay up, or should I somehow try to negotiate? People at work say I should, because I have no prior tickets of any kind (and I'm in my 40s) and supposedly if I just pay, insurance rates for both me and my wife for all vehicles will skyrocket(?)

But I mean – how do I argue with the facts? I probably was doing 38 mph - it was early morning commute and I wasn't paying enough attention.

Any thoughts welcome.
Thanks!

·
Registered
51 Posts
Go to court

In many states, just by going you can get the penalty reduced. With your clean record, you might be able to negotiate paying the fine, but keeping your record clean. Once you get a ticket on your driving record, the insurance will increase your rates for years.

·
Registered
220 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
In many states, just by going you can get the penalty reduced. With your clean record, you might be able to negotiate paying the fine, but keeping your record clean. Once you get a ticket on your driving record, the insurance will increase your rates for years.
Going in - as going in to City Hall or something?
I guess I should read what it says on the ticket eh :)

·
Registered
1,470 Posts
I don't know what options you have where you live. In California we have the option to take traffic school to avoid getting points on our license. It's those points that add to insurance rates. If you have that option, take it.

If your only choice is to pay and take the points, or fight the ticket in court, and you choose the latter, then consult a lawyer. They may cost more than the ticket, but if they help you avoid the points you will likely recover the costs in insurance savings.