Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

Ducati for everyday driving

11470 48
I am new to the world of Ducati. I am looking for a bike that I can drive often - not just on the weekends. I am really torn between the Monster S2R1000 and the 749. I know the Monster is easy enough to drive everyday. I am just looking for some insight into the 749, which I like more - bigger cool factor. I've been driving a Road King Harley for awhile now - not really loving it and I want something racier. Thanks.
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your bike HERE to be a part of this months Bike of the Month Challenge!
1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Super Moderator
8,322 Posts
If you ride the bike around town..

Go for a multi or a monster, no question.. not even a second thought.
The 749 is NOT, repeat NOT, a bike for city driving.

To put it this way.. I LOVE my 748 on the track. It´s smooth and lovely in the corners and has enough OMMPH on the straights to keep me somewhat happy. But the most fun i ever had on a bike was doing twisties on a Multi 1000DS.

The Superbikes are made for very aggresive riding and trackdays. The monster is good enough that you can take it to the track and not get your head handed to you, but you´ll have no problems doing away with sportbikes in twisties. The bike was made for small roads and for city riding.

But TRY BOTH. Don´t take one bike over the other just for looks. You have to try them both and be objective (Yeah.. right.. like THAT is going to happen.. err´not..).

Try the Multi aswell, because even if some find it less sexy then the 749, it´s still a great bike and alot of fun. And so is the monster.

·
Registered
1,146 Posts
I use my 999R for everyday riding, city riding, without any problems.
Yes, a monster would be a more suited for everyday day riding, but you can easly use a 749 for the same purpose and you can have loads of fun with it at the track from time to time if you want.

But try both and decide.
Good luck.

·
Chilehead
6,870 Posts